ADVERTISEMENT

From the left coast: CA legislature considers banning tackle/contact football for age 12 and under

CAMoleskinner

Jun 4, 2019
They say it's just too dangerous with claims that up to 30% of boys who played midget and weight-football have suffered concussions.

When I started playing tackle ball for Queen of The Universe (in third grade in 1962 or something) and then with the Penndel Wildcats (before Carl Sandburg junior high and then Neshaminy) so did all or most of my friends.

I am unaware that any of them have suffered from concussions or dementia or whatever - at last so far (with the average age of my friends around 70). People have had other health issues but not those as have come to be associated with repeated head trauma.

I guess it will be intramural flag football through high school soon enough and somehow the girls will dominate (owing to societal views/laws/whatever) and so it won't be long before we'll be watching an all female college landscape and NFL (if we're watching -- maybe just female soccer at the pro level which I find hilariously uninteresting as a solid boys high school squad can run them into the ground).

Way to go, California!

As everyone knows, California has its own set of problems beyond the tackle football lunacy. The attack on football has definitely lessened in recent years here in PA. The youth numbers have been creeping up over the past few years - not sure it's because of the Covid lockdowns, but the timing aligns.

Our society is still filled with normal people; we're just being inundated with news coverage of all the crazy stuff (which also seem to contain the loudest voices). Not sure why the media is so one-sided in support of the crazy stuff, but the normal people can't be afraid to support the facts.