ADVERTISEMENT

The Ridley Coaching Rumor Thread

Joe_Kane

Sep 26, 2009
So far I have heard the following things, each with differing levels of credibility, nothing that I would classify as anything other than a "rumor":

Waller comes back to guide the ship for a few years, then passes off to a younger coach to take over full time once the program is stable again.
I've heard this a couple times from a couple different people. Not sure if it has any legs or is just wishful thinking.

Waller is taking a coordinator/position job on the Springfield staff.
Supposedly this was before the turnover started at Ridley. Not sure if the recent changes affect his decision, or if he was even taking a job there in the first place.

Former Widener coach Dave Wood is the front runner.
This is the one I would give the most credence to. I've heard it from multiple places, and from the most credible source. I have zero knowledge about Wood as a coach; but if he coached on the collegiate level I'm sure he's more than qualified.

I'm assuming we won't hear anything concrete until the next school board meeting; but if there are whispers around The Mont or the Republican Club keep the baseless speculation coming.

JK

There is supposedly a long list of applicants so far from Pa, NJ and DE. Both high school and college . Wood seems to have friends in the building and is NOT looking for a teaching position - coach only - which is a huge benefit in hi favor. His coaching record at the college level was discussed in the prior post , so that can be spun any number of ways.

Another 'rumor' gathering steam is former Strath Haven and PSU star Dan Oconnor , who I believe is now at West Chester. He brings along his dad Jimbo and brother Mike who are currently on the Ohara staff. Jimbo was the architect of those great Haven defenses during their run to numerous state championship appearances.