ADVERTISEMENT

2017 Coaching Landscape

HSFballFan19

Jul 4, 2017
The recent thread regarding Schmidt, Gordon, and Carey got me thinking...do you see any coaching jobs being turned over next year? I would imagine it would take a special situation to lure these guys back into the grind.

Roman Catholic could use one of these Coaches. Murphy should be on the hot seat after going 1-9 (Roxborough only win) in his 1st year back and 4-8 last season and by the looks of things and the schedule they might only win 1/2 games this season. Time to clean house because it's not working. 5-17 will not get you anywhere, 2 of the 5 are Roxborough.

Is the Roman job attractive enough to bring one of these coaches out of retirement? You have two super powers in your classification to contend with that get all of the best kids in your talent pool. If I'm an in demand coach, I don't think any of the 6A and 5A philly catholic league jobs interest me in the slightest.

Is the Roman job attractive enough to bring one of these coaches out of retirement? You have two super powers in your classification to contend with that get all of the best kids in your talent pool. If I'm an in demand coach, I don't think any of the 6A and 5A philly catholic league jobs interest me in the slightest.
The answer to that question is yes.
Who are the two teams you are referring to? I know Prep is one and the other, Wood or LaSalle?
Either way, Roman was within a total referee meltdown of knocking off LaSalle last season.
Roman has talent on their roster right now. The only issue is most of those talented kids are Sophomores. Roman beat both wood and lasalle on the freshman level last season and the best player in that class was starting LB on the varsity. I know most people on here put 0 emphasis on freshman football so I wont bore you guys with this anymore.
Roman could and should be a great landing spot for inner city talent.